Diamond Neck Warmer

**Original post edited to correct pattern for Round 6 and Round 14.

Hello!

Neck warmers have been a bit of a thing for me this winter season because I have a set of needles that I can reliably use with a certain weight of yarn and create something about the same size every time. I have an idea of the number of stitches that the neck warmer needs, but the number is flexible based on the stitch pattern I use and the person/purpose it is intended for. This is something that you really need to play with for yourself because your gauge is going to be different from mine, therefore your ideal number is going to be different from what my number works out to. My needles are a size 7, I use a worsted weight yarn, and I tend to make for adults. My stitch number usually works out to +/- 88. The pattern I use might be a repeat of 14 stitches and that would change the number to 84 (6 repeats of 14 stitches is 84 stitches).

96 stitches is the number for the Diamond Neck warmer (16 stitches repeated 6 times in each round). This project is intended to be a little bit more loose around the neck meaning there needed to be a few more stitches than the 88 I usually use. The stitch pattern is from the Potter Craft 400 Knitting Stitches book and the yarn is Rios in Nimbus Gray from Malabrigo Yarns. I’m a big fan of the soft, warm Merino as well as the fact that it is super-wash so it doesn’t felt with wash and wear.

To make this I used a size 7 circular needle which was relatively short (I think it is one of the shortest cable lengths you can get although I can’t remember exactly what the length is). I cast on 97 stitches and I used one stitch to join so I could work in the round. I put a place marker at the beginning and got to work using a pattern that works up over 18 rows. I followed the chart more than I did the written instructions because I wasn’t working in a right side/wrong side scenario. By using the chart, it was a lot easier to see what the pattern should look like and to follow the symbols as they stand as opposed to having to constantly reinterpret the written instructions to be right side only. For the purposes of this write-up, I will just write out the stitches row by row. Feel free to grab some graph paper and make a chart for yourself. I think the exercise is fun so I try to map out patterns from written instructions when I can.

Round 1- P1, K15. Repeat to marker.

Round 2- P2, K13, P1. Repeat to marker.

Round 3- K1, P2, K11, P2. Repeat to marker.

Round 4- K2, P2, K9, P2, K1. Repeat to marker.

Round 5- P1, K2, P2, K7, P2, K2. Repeat to marker.

Round 6- K1, P1, K2, P2, K5, P2, K2, P1. Repeat to marker.

Round 7- P1, K1, P1, K2, P2, K3, P2, K2, P1, K1. Repeat to marker.

Round 8- K1, P1, K1, P1, K2, P2, K1, P2, K2, P1, K1, P1. Repeat to marker.

Round 9- P1, K1, P1, K1, P1, K2, P3, K2, P1, K1, P1, K1. Repeat to marker.

Round 10- K1, P1, K1, P1, K1, P1, K2, P1, K2, P1, K1, P1, K1, P1. Repeat to marker.

Round 11- P1, K1, P1, K1, P1, K2, P3, K2, P1, K1, P1, K1. Repeat to marker.

Round 12- K1, P1, K1, P1, K2, P2, K1, P2, K2, P1, K1, P1. Repeat to marker.

Round 13- P1, K1, P1, K2, P2, K3, P2, K2, P1, K1. Repeat to marker.

Round 14- K1, P1, K2, P2, K5, P2, K2, P1. Repeat to marker.

Round 15- P1, K2, P2, K7, P2, K2. Repeat to marker.

Round 16- K2, P2, K9, P2, K1. Repeat to marker.

Round 17- K1, P2, K11, P2. Repeat to marker.

Round 18- P2, K13, P1. Repeat to marker.

For the project, 5 repeats of this 18-round pattern were used.

CO/W/B (Cast Off/Wash/Block).

 

 

 

One thought on “Diamond Neck Warmer

Leave a Reply

